Exhibition: Decode – Digital Design Sensations

Exhibition of
Arcs 21

Decode - Digital Design Sensations
Victoria&Albert Museum, London
2009/12/08 - 2010/04/11

>>> http://www.vam.ac.uk/microsites/decode

Flickr Set by onedotzero:

Flickr Set by Chris O'Shea:
>>> http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixelsumo/sets/72157622958844718




Exhibition Text

Decode: Digital Design Sensations showcases the latest developments in digital and interactive design, from small, screen-based, graphics to large-scale interactive installations. The exhibition includes works by established international artists and designers such as Daniel Brown, Golan Levin, Daniel Rozin, Troika and Karsten Schmidt. The exhibition features both existing works and new commissions created especially for the exhibition.

Decode is a collaboration between the V&A and onedotzero, a contemporary arts organisation operating internationally with a remit to promote innovation across all forms of moving image and interactive arts.

The exhibition explores three themes: Code presents pieces that use computer code to create new works and looks at how code can be programmed to create constantly fluid and ever-changing works. Interactivity looks at works that are directly influenced by the viewer. Visitors will be invited to interact with and contribute to the development of the exhibits. Network focuses on works that comment on and utilise the digital traces left behind by everyday communications and looks at how advanced technologies and the internet have enabled new types of social interaction and mediums of self-expression.

Decode will be on display in The Porter Gallery. Exhibits can also be found on the V&A Exhibition Road façade, in the Grand Entrance, John Madejski Garden and South Kensington tunnel, at the bottom of the stairs to the National Art Library (Staircase L), as well as in the Science Museum.

List of Artists

C.E.B. Reas
Daniel Brown
Ryoji Ikeda
John Maeda
James Frost / Aaron Koblin
Joshua Davis
Karsten Schmidt
Marius Watz
Universal Everything

Daniel Rozin
Golan Levin
Mehmet Akten
Ross Phillips
Yoke / Sennep
Simon Heijdens
Random International
Chris O'Shea
Daan Roosegaarde
Jason Bruges

Julius Popp
Jonathan Harris / Sep Kamvar
Aaron Koblin
Mark Hansen / Ben Rubin
Sascha Pohflepp / Karsten Schmidt
Rafael Lozano-Hemmer

This entry was posted in Blog + News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.